Winner’s Crowned At Oran Mòr Whisky Awards 2023

The 2023 Òran Mór Whisky Awards took place last night with the great and the good of the Scotch Whisky industry gathering to celebrate their love of Scotland and Whisky. The event, which is fast becoming one of the biggest of its type in the awards calendar, attracted a glittering attendee list to the venue.

The Oran Mór Auditorium was packed out with Reps, Brands and Journalists from across the trade, and guests enjoyed a fine three course meal followed by entertainment from “Reely Jiggered”, the winners of O2 ABC Soundwave Music Competition. The event was hosted by Kenny MacDonald, the co-founder of Dràm Mòr Group, with a very special guest speaker in the form of Richard Paterson (“the nose”), Master Blender at Whyte & Mackay.

The submissions this year have been sampled by an expert panel of judges, including Alan Wood (Scotch Malt Whisky Society), Ken Smith (The Herald), and Justine Hazlehurst (KASK Whisky Club)

It was a special night indeed for Jim McEwan MBE, a giant of the industry who scooped the Lifetime Achievement Award after an illustrious career which started at Bowmore, going on to become Master Distiller at Bruichladdich and most recently heading up production at Ardnahoe.
Justine Conway, Operations Manager for Oran Mór, said of the event;

“We are delighted to play host to the Whisky Awards again this year- this event has gone from strength to strength and is just one way for us to recognise the intrinsic way in which the Whisky industry supports the hospitality trade in this country, and to reward some of those brands and individuals who have excelled in their field.”

Winners of the Òran Mór Whisky Awards 2023

  • Best Blended Whisky – Scallywag by Douglas Laing
  • Best Overseas Whisky – Elements Sherry Cask by Milk & honey (Israel)
  • Best Newcomer Whisky – Bunnahabhain 12 Cask Strength by Distell
  • Blind Tasting – The Bodega, Sherry Cask by Arran Whisky
  • Peoples Choice – Highland Park 12 by Edrington
  • Rep of the Year – Scott Woodhead from Distell
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Jim McEwan